AASLD: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
Home | Contact Us
About Us | News | JoinPatients | AASLD Foundation | Special Interest Groups | Committees

Distinguished Awards 

Jules L. Dienstag, MD

2014 AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award
The AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained scientific contributions to the field of liver disease and the scientific foundations of hepatology. The award honors a sustained contribution rather than a single discovery or major achievement.

Sherrie H. Cathcart, CAE

2014 AASLD Distinguished Service Award
The AASLD Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained service to the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) or the liver disease community in general. The award recognizes service provided to the community of hepatology researchers and clinicians over an extended period; service that is well above and beyond that provided by many members who serve on the Governing Board and Committees of AASLD.

William M. Lee, MD 

2014 AASLD Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award
The Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award is given in honor of the sustained service of clinician educators to AASLD or the liver community in general. The award recognizes the skills of outstanding clinicians and educators who have made momentous contributions to hepatology over an extended period.

 Award Recipients

Expand/Collapse Award : AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award ‎(25)
2013Roger Williams, CBE, MD, FRCP, FRCS, FMedSci
2012Anna Mae Diehl, MD
2011Harvey J. Alter, MD
2010Sum-Ping Lee, MD, PhD
2009Nelson Fausto, MD
2008Lawrie W Powell, MD, PhD
2007Juan Rodes, MD
2006Neil Kaplowitz, MD
2005E Jenny Heathcote, MD
2004D Montgomery Bissell, MD
2003Nicholas F LaRusso, MD
2002Roberto J Groszmann, MD
2001Jay H Hoofnagle, MD
2000Robert H Purcell, MD
1999Francis V Chisari, MD
1998James L Boyer, MD
1997Alan F Hofmann, MD
1996Irmin Sternlieb, MD
1995Telfer B Reynolds, MD
1994Irwin M Arias, MD
1993Stanley E Bradley, MD and Carl A Goresky, MD
1991Thomas E Starzl, MD
1990Rudi Schmid, MD
1989Aron Rappaport, MD
1986Hyman J Zimmerman, MD
Expand/Collapse Award : AASLD Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award ‎(6)
2013Arthur J. McCullough, MD
2012Nathan M. (Tony) Bass, MD
2011Ding-Shinn Chen, MD
2010Norman D. Grace, MD
2009Laurie Blendis, MD
2008Albert J Czaja, MD
Expand/Collapse Award : AASLD Distinguished Service Award ‎(25)
2013Frederick J. Suchy, MD
2012Thomas D. Boyer, MD
2011Anna Suk-Fong Lok, MD
2010Bruce R. Bacon, MD
2009Joseph R Bloomer, MD
2008Andres T Blei, MD
2007William F Balistreri , MD
2006Allan W Wolkoff , MD
2005Leonard B Seeff , MD
2004Eugene R Schiff, MD
2003Paul D Berk, MD
2002Esteban Mezey, MD
2001Anthony S Tavill, MD
2000Willis C Maddrey, MD
1999Michael F Sorrell, MD
1998Kamal G Ishak, MD
1997Steven Schenker, MD
1993Sarah C Kalser, PhD
1991Carroll M Leevy, MD
1990Kunio Okauda, MD
1989Herbert Falk, MD
1988Dame Sheila Sherlock, MD, PhD
1984Burton Combes, MD
1983Hans Popper, MD
1981Leon Schiff, MD